return to main page

The Orange County Space Society,
in association with Space Camp Turkey, presents:


2006 Total Solar Eclipse Tour!
We're off to Turkey for this not-to-be-missed event

Through our partnership with Space Camp Turkey, we are able to offer this unique adventure to our members, as well as anyone who would like to join us. If you would like to sign up for this trip, or would like more information, please feel free to E-mail Larry Evans. Also, updates will be posted to this page, accessible through the OCSS website main page. Be sure to check back often, so you'll be kept informed of any changes.
 


Preliminary tour schedule (flight times approximate):

Wednesday, March 22
Thursday, March 23
Friday, March 24
Saturday, March 25
Sunday, March 26
Monday, March 27
Tuesday, March 28
Wednesday, March 29
Thursday, March 30
Friday, March 31
Saturday, April 1
Sunday, April 2

Los Angeles to Istanbul, departs 7 a.m.
Istanbul to Izmir flight, arrives in Izmir at 1:45 p.m.
Ephesus and Virgin Mary House tours
Space Camp Turkey and Eclipse orientation
Travel to Pamukkale for sightseeing and overnight stay
Travel to Manavgat and sightseeing
Sightseeing Antalya/Manavgat/Side and set up for eclipse
TOTAL SOLAR ECLIPSE!
Morning flight to Istanbul
Sightseeing in Istanbul
Sightseeing in Istanbul/End-of-tour dinner at Maiden's Tower
Istanbul-New York-Los Angeles flight departs 11:20 a.m.
Arrive in Los Angeles at 9 p.m.
 

Hotel nights = Izmir: 3 (March 23-35); Pamukkale: 1 (March 26); Antalya (Side or Manavgat): 3 (March 27-29); Istanbul: 3 (March30-April 1). Trip total: 11 days/10 nights.
 

At this time, we are estimating the trip to cost between $2,500 and $3,000 per person. This includes round-trip airfare from Los Angeles to Istanbul (as well as from Istanbul to Izmir), hotel accommodations (double occupancy), and about half the meals. It does not include other meals, souvenirs, or other incidentals.
 
Eclipse schedule for March 29 (all times are for Turkey):
* First contact occurs at 11:36 a.m. (start of eclipse)
* Second contact (totality) begins at 12:53 p.m.
* Third contact (end of totality) occurs at 12:57 p.m.
* Fourth contact (end of eclipse) occurs at 2:12 p.m.
* The Sun will be approximately 55 degrees above the horizon at totality.
* Totality will last just under four minutes.